MMP Celebrates 200 Sustainers

Upwards of 300 people joined the Media Mobilizing Project on March 25th in a night of music and performances to celebrate our expanding media work, launching six new computer centers at community organizations across Philadelphia.

This special event also served as an opportunity to honor everyone who has committed to invest in MMP on a monthly basis by becoming a sustainer. Over the past year, we have been working really hard to develop our grassroots approach to funding our work. A major component of our grassroots fundraising strategy has been our MMP Sustainer Campaign. We are excited to announce that we now have 200 supporters giving between $5 and $50 a month to sustain our independent media infrastructure and movement building for years to come.

In a unique movement building moment, leaders from across different struggles and organizations came together to celebrate our work. The night opened with a performance by students from Movement Music, a project of the Philadelphia Student Union. MMP media-makers Kistine Carolan of Labor Justice Radio and Miguel Andrade of MMPTV spoke about the power of media and communications as an organizing tool for our movement. Carolyn Humphries of the Pennsylvania Association of Staff Nurses and Allied Professional spoke along with Ron Blount of the Unified Taxi Workers Alliance. We closed the night with a performance by Roy Campisi of Philadelphia Firefighters Local 22.

We extend many thanks to our wonderful host committee members Alix Webb, Allison Budshalow, Amalia Anderson, Amendu Evans, Antoine Haywood, Audra Traynham, Beth McConnell, Betty Yu, Bill Zoda, Bryan Mercer, Carmen Cuadrado, Chakka Reeves, Chance Williams, Cicely Peterson-Mangum, Clayton Ruley, Deaglan Daugherty, Desi Burnette, Dina Yarmus, Erika Owens, Gary Broderick, Jeff Hornstein, Joe Hanszum, Kathy Black, Kristin Campbell, Lisa Williams, Liz Theoharis, Luke Navatoga, Masaru Edmund Nakawatase, Meghna Chandra, Mia Lia Kiernan, Mica Root, Miguel E. Andrade, Milena Velis, Mohammad Shukur, Nijmie Dzurinko, Phil Wider, Rebekah Phillips, Ria Cruz, Siria Serrano, Sonia Rosen, Steve Chervenka, Tanya Jackson, Tim McShea, Todd Wolfson, Toño Velis and Vanessa Graber.

Check out photos from the party below and listen to powerful speeches from Carolyn Humphries of PASNAP along with Ron Blount of the Unified Taxi Workers Alliance.